Lunch from 12:00 to 16:45
Dinner from 17:00 to 21:45
- Disabled Access
- Easy Access
- Free WiFi
- Families and Children Welcome
- Children Welcome (Up to 8pm)
- Gluten Free Available
About The Torrance Hotel
Torrance Hotel has a rich history. It was originally built as a cotton-spinning mill and workers houses and was the very first manufacturing enterprise in the village of East Kilbride. Recently refurbished and significantly upgraded, The Torrance has always been at the heart of East Kilbride. The building has retained all its original character and charm. We have 20 comfortable bedrooms including the newly refurbished Honeymoon Suite. Enjoy a meal in our warm and friendly restaurant or lounge bar which caters for a wide range of food from traditional meals to bar snacks. We have a special menu for children and a wide range of sophisticated dishes for adults.
Afternoon Tea is served Monday to Friday, 14.30 - 17.00
The meal was lovely and the girl serving was very attentive. Although we did wait quite a while for the courses to come. The food nicely presented and tasted great however once we left the dining area and made way to the pub section the service for drinks was terrible. You were standing at the bar for at least 15 minutes plus before you got served. The staff looked very harassed and there was very little of them serving. Disappointingly the drink we ordered sold out very quickly. I have been to the Torrance a few times but will probably will only go back to eat.
Hi Donna, Thank you for your lovely comments about our food. The chefs will be delighted that you enjoyed your meal. I am very sorry that you did not receive the same great service at the bar.We have taken your comments on board and will be implementing new systems so this doesn't recur. Regards, The Torrance Hotel
Lovely decor, relaxed atmosphere, great menu and food was delicious.
Dear Robert, Thank you for choosing The Torrance Hotel for your dining experience. It's great that you found the atmosphere relaxing and the food delicious. We hope to see you again soon Best Regards, The Torrance Hotel
Service at the bar is a bit slow, was a busy night and more staff behind the bar would have been better. Meal was great and table service very good, overall a great night and a good atmosphere. Really good place for meeting up with friends for a meal and a few drinks Ahad a good night and would definitely go again
Hi Simon, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry that the service at the bar was a bit slow. Our bar manager has amended the rotas accordingly for busy Saturday nights.I am glad that the food and atmosphere was great and that you had a good night. Best Wishes
Stayed here over night the staff in the restaurant go all out particularly the young girl in the restaurant was doing breakfast alone witch I thought she was amazing at dealing with it all great meal Will be back !
Dear Demi, Thank you so much for your lovely comments about our hardworking restaurant team. Its great that you enjoyed your overnight with us. Thank you for leaving a review. Warmest Regards, The Torrance Hotel
Food was lovely.
Hi James, The chefs will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed our lovely food!
The restaurant mid week was quiet and as a result a little lacking in atmosphere. However as we were there fore a catch-up we weren’t fighting ‘muzak’. Staff were excellent as always as way food.
Thank you for your lovely comments about our food and drink. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
We arrived at 6pm on a Sunday and we felt disappointed when informed that there were quite a few dishes on the menu not available such as burgers and enchiladas. Then once again ordering cocktails informed no candy floss left for one of the cocktails. It all seemed quite early in the day to have food and drink not available, I’m glad we did not have a later booking.
thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm sorry that some items were unavailable during your visit. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Had a kinda ordinary dinner at the Torrance Hotel. It was very busy and we felt really rushed. The food was very ordinary and the wine overpriced for the quality. We were asked to vacate our table but noticed half an hour later it was still empty!!!!!
Hi Diane, sorry tohear that you didnt enjoy your visit. Your feedback has been passed to our kitchen and management teams.
Lovely meal, friendly and efficient staff and welcoming atmosphere.
Hi Karen, Thanks so much for your lovely comments.
I had a really lovely evening with my friends on Saturday. Food and drink were amazing. Our waitress Holly was very helpful.
Hi Kirsty. I'm delighted to hear that you had such a great time at The Torrance hotel. we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Service a bit slow. Waited 25 mins for someone to come so we could ask for the bill and get more drinks.
Hi John, Thank you for the rating our food and atmosphere so highly. We are sorry that on this occasion you had to wait for the bill. Your comments have been passed to the management team so we can address this going forward. Regards, The Torrance Hotel
As a coeliac who is also vegetarian I was very disappointed in the gluten free choices. I had been in at Xmas and your choices were fantastic. I had 2 dishes (soup and sweet potato curry which tasted similar!) and the only gf dessert choice was ice cream! My partner said her starter was lovely but her main ( fish and chips) was ok. Service, staff , atmosphere was lovely. I doubt I’ll be back though which is a shame 😏
Hi Debbie, Thank you for leaving us a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the service and atmosphere at the hotel. I'm sorry to hear that we didn't have enough GF and vegetarian options on the menu. Your feedback has been passed to the head chef. We do constantly revise our menus throughout the year so please give us another try. Also if you give us a call we can arrange for a menu to be emailed over to you before your visit and our chefs will do their best to accommodate any requests you may have. Regards, The Torrance Hotel
Fantastic service- Jose was very attentive to us and really easy to chat to. We will definitely be back soon!
Thank you so much for the great review. Jose will be delighted by your lovely comments. The Torrance Hotel.
My husband got his lip cut on a glass that was chipped and he hadn’t noticed it was chipped before drinking out of it when we brought it too the managers attention all we got was sorry I’ll get you a fresh one not even are you ok or bleeding. Didn’t feel the food was worth the price for what we got.
Really enjoyed the meal service was great and staff very attentive
Hi Lynn, So great to hear that you had a 5* experience with us. Hope to see you again soon. The Torrance Hotel
Good food and service
Hi Daniel, Thanks for the review!!
A disappointing visit. Starter was disappointing chipotle chicken bites lacking in flavour, 5 bites and the starter was gone this was including the 2 bits I couldn’t eat which were gristle. I have had the dish before and it was larger with more flavour. Fish and chips was ok and dessert was sticky toffee which was a huge slice which was surprising considering the size of the starter but this was burnt around the edges luckily the ice cream covered the taste of some of this up. The one thing that was great was our servers. Looks like you need to improve your food to the same level of service provider by your servers.
Hi Angela, Thank you for your review. Your comments regarding your dining experience have been passed to our head chef. Our restaurant team were delighted by your lovely comments regarding their service.
Although the food was excellent the service was very poor. It took almost two hours for us to have Two courses. The waiter didn't write anything down and botched the order. It did get rectified but delayed one of our party eating. I eventually had to leave before coffee came as it took so long. The service spoiled our experience
A lovely night with great food and drinks. Got a bit noisy later on with loud music from the bar area. Would still recommend.
Hi Doreen, Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a lovely night with us. Friday's can be rather lively as we have a DJ in the bar. If you prefer it a tad quieter give us a try Sun-Thursday. Best Regards, The Torrance Hotel
Service good. Draughty in the restaurant- think a door was open somewhere.
Hi Pamela, Thanks for your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the service. i would like to apologise for the fact that you were cold during your meal, if you would like the heating to be adjusted please just let us know and we can make it a more comfortable temperature for you, We hope to see you again soon The Torrance Hotel
only got 4 stars as we had 3 in our party wanting the risotto and it was unavailable - would have been better for staff to advise us of this before ordering
Hi Fiona, I am very sorry that our restaurant team didn't inform you that we had ran out of risotto. I can assure you that this is not our usual standard of service. We have implemented a new policy going forward.However thank you for the great rating of our food and service. Regards, The Torrance Hotel
We used a black Friday voucher for lunch, due to using a voucher we were unable to get anything from lunch menu. It ended up being an expensive lunch although we did enjoy our food. We felt we didn't get value for money from voucher. The lunch menu 2 courses for £13 we had to buy separate from a la carte costing over £20 therefor cancelling any discount from voucher. Would not buy again.
Great service, food was lovely and nice atmosphere.
Thank you to all the staff for everything they did in making my baby shower a success. Everyone had a lovely time and the place looked great and the food was amazing. It truly made it a really special day.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Food took a while to arrive but worth the wait, we all enjoyed our meal. Would return and recommend